Student Support Services Division


As per section (40), clause (2) (a) of the Statutes of the Tamil Nadu Open University, the Student Support Services Division (SSSD) is listed one of the Operating Divisions of the University. The SSSD now operates 8 Regional Centres and 385 Study Centres across the State to provide seamless learner support services.


In accordance with section (45) (a) of the Statutes of the Tamil Nadu Open University, the functions of Student Support Services Division (SSSD) include establishing and maintenance of Study Centres/ Learning Resource Centres/ Learner Support Centres, satisfying the learning needs of the students and attending to student grievances, arranging for counseling, assignment evaluation, orientation for counsellors and co-ordinators and attending to students’ needs and such other matters as may be prescribed by the Syndicate or Vice-Chancellor. Accordingly, the SSSD is constantly supporting the Regional Centres and the Learner Support Centres for transforming quality education for the learners at their close proximity.

Establishment of Regional Centres (RCs)

The University with the due approval of the Government of Tamilnadu has established 8 Regional Centres, each one in Chennai, Coimbatore, Dharmapuri, The Nilgiris, Madurai, Tiruchirappalli, Tirunelveli and Vilupuram for the benefit of the learners as well as the Study Centres.

In 2012, the University set up the Regional Centres in Tiruchirappalli and Coimbatore vide G.O (Ms). No. 70 dated 18.05.2012. Following this, in 2013, the Regional Centres in Chennai, Dharmapuri and Madurai came into being in accordance with the G.O (Ms). No. 109 dated 25.06.2013. Subsequently, it established the Regional Centres in The Nilgiris and Vilupuram vide G.O (Ms). No. 100 dated 26.04.2017 with the partial grant from the Government in 2017. The Tirunelveli Regional Centre was set up as per the announcement made by the Hon’ble Minister for Higher Education during the Higher Education Department Demand 2017-18.

While the Vilupuram Regional Centre is functioning on our own building, the University has got the free land allotments for the Madurai and the Nilgiris Regional Centres from the Government. The land obtaining process for the rest of the Regional Centres are taking place.

Learner Support Centres (LSCs)

The University has it’s Learner Support Centres and Study Centres only in the Higher Educational Institutions (HEIs) affiliated to various Universities in the State, adhering to the University Grants Commission (Open and Distance Learning Programmes and Online Programmes) Regulations, 2020. At present, 385 Study Centres are recognized by the University.

As a model in the Open and Distance Learning in India, the University has established it’s Learner Support Centres in 132 Government Arts and Science Colleges in the State, for which the Government of Tamilnadu has issued two G.Os such as G.O. (Ms). No. 150 dated 23.10.2020 and G.O. (Ms). No. 48 dated 25.02.2021. This initiate massively supports the learners to get quality education at a par with on campus education.


Dr. R. Mahendran
Director (i/c)
Student Support Services Division
Second Floor, Administrative Block
Tamil Nadu Open University
No.577, Anna Salai, Saidapet
Chennai- 600 015
Mobile: 9345913376